Rowling Fan Guesses Name of Next Cormoran Strike Book

By March 14, 2017Authors, New Releases, News

The last we heard of Cormoran Strike was J. K Rowling telling us late last year that the book was delayed after a busy year with the Harry Potter franchise and Fantastic Beasts, but today on Twitter, Rowling gave a clue to the name and one lucky fan guessed correctly!

Fans are keen to hear news of the new book, and one plucky fan today asked Rowling for a clue to the book name, in which Rowling answered in kind, starting a huge Twitter frenzy. Here’s that first exchange:

The fans went mad and there were many serious, and very funny suggestions, as well as many wondering if Jo would keep her end of the bargain:

 

We rather liked this suggestion, but alas it wasn’t correct:



And as always, JK was as witty as ever:

 

But eventually someone guessed correctly and now we all know that the next Cormoran Strike book will be called Lethal White.

Rowling went on to promise the winner a signed copy of the book, but added that it isn’t finished but we did find out how far through she is, so that’s something at least.

The new book will be the fourth book in the series written under a pseudonym, Robert Galbraith. The series started with The Cuckoo’s Calling, quickly followed by The Silkworm, in 2015 the third book, Career of Evil was released and fans are now awaiting the fourth book. I haven’t awaited a new book so impatiently since Harry Potter! Jo, why do you torture us so?

George R.R. Martin Announces Fire and Blood Release Date

By | New Releases | No Comments

But it’s not the one we’re waiting for

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series will be pleased to learn that this year they’ll have an excuse to return to the lands of Westeros. No, it’s not the long awaited Winds of Winter, but is instead a book that chronicles the long and bloody reign of the Targaryen kings and queens that ruled Westeros thanks to the might of their dragons.

Announced on Martin’s official blog, Fire and Blood is set to be released later this year on November 20 and will release simultaneously in both the US and the UK. Translated editions will take a little longer to release but will follow shortly after. Despite being the first of two books, the tome’s manuscript comes in at just shy of 1000 pages (989 to be exact) and will begin with the reign of Aegon I up to the regency of Aegon III.
Read More

20th Anniversary Harry Potter Covers Hide a Stunning Secret

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Over the years we’ve seen various Harry Potter covers, but maybe none so fixed in our memories as the iconic original covers. Be honest, when you picture the first Harry Potter book, do you see the Hogwarts Express in the background? I know I do.

Now it’s twenty years since the first book was released and to celebrate, American illustrator Brian Selznick, a huge fan of the series, has designed a set of brand new covers and they hide a beautiful secret.
Read More

New Book on Animal Flatulence Is All We’ve Been Waiting For

By | New Releases | No Comments
Yes, you read that right! There’s a brand new book on animals and whether they fart. So if you’ve ever wondered if birds do it, or bees do it, or even educated fleas do it, you can find out with this brand new book released this month.

Have you ever wondered if a snake sneaks one out? If a bird barps? Or if a fish farts? Well Does it Fart? The Definitive Guide to Animal Flatulence will be able to tell you.
Read More

New J.R.R. Tolkien Book ‘The Fall of Gondolin’ to Be Released This Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
J.R.R Tolkien is arguably the father of modern fantasy and his fictional world of Middle-Earth has had a massive impact on the fantasy genre since The Hobbit was published in 1937. Since Tolkien’s death in 1973, his son Christopher has spent decades pouring over his father’s unfinished works in order to bring us new stories set in Middle-Earth that Tolkien himself never finished. Last year we saw the release of Beren and Lúthien in a stand alone edition, and now we can look forward to a new release in The Fall of Gondolin. Read More

5 Exciting New Releases for April

By | New Releases | No Comments
Spring is well and truly in the air now in the Northern Hemisphere and if you’re starting to think about your summer reads, or the books you might like to pack in the holiday case then there are some brilliant new books out this April that may just catch your eye.

Whatever you like to read, fiction or nonfiction, April is promising some exciting new reading material. Here we’re going to take a look at what we think are the best new releases for April, with release dates and pre-order details. Read More



Leave a Reply