Literary Awards

Theakston Crime Novel of the Year Shortlist Revealed for 2017

By | Literary Awards, Literature, News | No Comments
The shortlist for the Old Peculier Theakston Crime Novel of the year was announced yesterday, reducing the original longlist down to six fantastic crime novels, all worthy winners of the award.

The shortlist contains some well known names in the crime genre, such as Val McDermid and Chris Brookmyre, who have both been nominated in previous years, and some newer authors you may not have heard of. Read More

Colson Whitehead Wins the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2017

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad has been one of the most talked about books of the last year. Shortlisted for several awards and winner of the National Book Award it was even included in President Obama’s summer reading list of 2016.

And now The Underground Railroad has won maybe the most prestigious literary award of them all as Colson Whitehead is announced as the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Read More

A History of Joseph Pulitzer

By | Literary Awards, Literature | No Comments
To celebrate Joseph Pulitzer’s life and legacy, For Reading Addicts presents to you: The Joseph Pulitzer Timeline.

The Pulitzer Prize is well-known in literary circles, especially in the USA, but many do not know much detail about the man behind the prize. The Hungarian-born American, Joseph Pulitzer, gave money in his will to Columbia University to launch a school of journalism, and establish the Prize itself, specifying “four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one in education, and four traveling scholarships.”

The Prize evolved over the years, expanding from its original concept, to many categories including Prize for Commentary, Prize for Music, and a Prize for Poetry. We are sure Joseph Pulitzer would be happy to have his name continue to be used to champion some of the best writers and thinkers of our time.

Read More

Self Published Authors Encouraged to Submit for Young Writer Award

By | Authors, Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Self published authors are often forgotten when it comes to literary awards, and that’s why The Sunday Times/Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award is reminding self publishers that the award is open to both self published authors, and traditionally published writers. Submissions are now open for the award and if you’re a self published author, it’s time to put your work in for consideration now. Read More

And The Award Goes To…

By | Literary Awards, Literature | No Comments
Booker, Pulitzer, Goncourt, Hugo, Guardian, Goethe…
Sound familiar?

These are definitely not names of dishes; and neither characters from a novel or movie.

Every writer or poet dreams of being recognised and appreciated for his/her work and these are some of the most coveted prizes in the literary field. There are thousands of prizes given out across the world for different categories and numerous writers every year, hope to win the titles. Read More

Baileys Announces 2017 Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist

By | Literary Awards, Literature | No Comments

This week, Tessa Ross, 2017 Chair of Judges revealed the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist. The shortlist includes one previous winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction and one novelist making their debut this year.

Tessa said, on the Women’s Prize for Fiction website:

“It has been a great privilege to Chair the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction in a year which has proved exceptional for writing of both quality and originality. It was therefore quite a challenge to whittle this fantastic long list of 16 books down to only six… These were the six novels that stayed with all of us well beyond the final page.”

Read More

Poetic Memoir is Winner of Ted Hughes Award 2016

By | Literary Awards, News, Poetry | No Comments
The winner of the Ted Hughes Award for new work in poetry has been announced and the 2016 winner is Hollie McNish for her poetic memoir Nobody Told Me.

The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life. Hollie McNish was presented the award and the £5,000 cash prize, donated by Carol Ann Duffy at an award ceremony. Read More

Dylan Thomas Prize 2017 Shortlist Announced

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The International Dylan Thomas Prize is an annual award for young writers and is considered to be one of the most prestigious awards of its kind. The £30,000 Prize is awarded to the best published or produced literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under and is named after the quintessential young writer, Dylan Thomas. The prize is run in partnership with Swansea University and is available to writers around the world. Read More

Regional Award for The Big Comfy Bookshop

By | Bookshops, Literary Awards | No Comments
The Big Comfy Bookshop in Coventry is exactly as the name suggests. An independent bookshop café, the store is warm and welcoming and a firm favourite of For Reading Addict’s Shan, and clearly she’s not the only one as the shop has picked up a regional award.

What’s On Magazine has named The Big Comfy Bookshop Best Independent Coffee Shop/Café in Coventry & Warwickshire, proving that books and coffee go together perfectly! Read More

Winner of Inaugural Jhalak Prize for BAME Authors Announced

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The Jhalak Prize for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic Writers (BAME) was only set up last year, to challenge the lack of diversity in literature, and the first winner is announced as Jacob Ross for his crime novel The Bone Readers.

The prize was founded last year to improve the poor representation of black, Asian and minority ethnic writers and was funded by an anonymous donor. Now the first year is complete, it’s announced that the prize will run again next year. Read More