Category

New Releases

Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By | New Releases | No Comments
Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.

Read More

‘Fear’ by Bob Woodward Has Sold Almost as Many Copies in a Week as ‘The Art of the Deal’ Has in 30 Years

By | New Releases, Political | No Comments
Bob Woodward’s Fear is arguably the biggest book of 2018 and, despite being released only last week, has already sold over a million copies. It was reported that the book sold 750,000 copies in its first day of sales alone. Fear‘s publisher Simon & Schuster spoke to CNN on Tuesday and said it had sold more than 1.1 million copies, making it the fastest selling book in the company’s history. A tenth printing is currently on order which will push book sales up to 1.2 million copies sold.
Read More

10 books by UK comedians to tickle your funny bone

By | Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Comedians in the UK have always tried to test the boundaries of humour, shine a light on odd cultural norms, and have been instrumental in the evolution of comedy as we know it.

From Laurel and Hardy to Monty Python’s Flying Circus, from the alternative comedy of the 1980s (Ben Elton, Jennifer Saunders) to innovative comedy of the 1990s (Simon Pegg, Jessica Stevenson)- the UK has always been at the forefront of comedy as it evolves.

Many UK comedians currently have autobiographies or humorous non-fiction titles available in your local bookshop: here are our favourites from the most recent releases.

Read More

New Book Explores the Relationship Between Writers and their Cats

By | Authors, New Releases | No Comments
Released last month, Writers and Their Cats does exactly what it says on the tin. Writers are a solitary sort, at home all day, and so it does make them perfect for keeping house pets and cats and writing kind of go hand in hand. I’ve often wondered how many authors have a feline muse, draped across their lap as they type and now it seems this new book has all the answers.

This volume celebrates forty five famous writers including Mark Twain, Haruki Murakami, and Ursula K. Le Guin, who have shared their home and writing space with a feline friend. There are photographs and stories all exploring that special bond between wordsmith and mouser.

Here’s a taster:

Read More

West Virginian Library Reverses Decision Not to Stock Bob Woodward’s ‘Fear’

By | Libraries, New Releases, News, Political | No Comments
A few days ago, it was reported that the Morgan County Public Library in Berkeley Springs, W.Va was refusing to stock the newly released, and much sought after, Bob Woodward book Fear, which takes a critical look at Trump’s time as POTUS. However, following an enormous backlash from local residents, which soon saw the story make headlines, the library has confirmed it will be lending out Fear.

Despite only being published last Friday, Fear has already proven to be one of the biggest books of the year and reportedly sold over 750,000 copies within its first day of sales, it is also the fastest-selling adult book since Harper Lee’s 2015 book Go Set a Watchmen.
Read More

The Duchess of Sussex Supports Grenfell Cookbook

By | New Releases | No Comments
Meghan, the new Duchess of Sussex has been making secret trips to the Hubb kitchen, a community mosque where residents got together to cook for victims of the tragedy, particularly those who were left in hotels without cooking facilities.

The group were getting together twice a week to cook family meals, bringing the community together and after a suggestion from the Duchess will now be releasing a cookbook for charity.

Read More

Fear: Trump in the White House Smashes Sales Expectations

By | New Releases, Political | No Comments
Veteran Washington reporter Bob Woodward wrote Fear: Trump in the White House, a scathing attack on President Trump’s administration. Trump dismissed the book as ‘a joke’ but after less than a week of sales it seems it’s a joke that many people are keen to share as it’s reported that the book has sold three quarters of a million copies in the first day and is already going to its ninth reprint.

Guaranteed to be the bestselling nonfiction book of September, the expose is said to “depict a White House awash in dysfunction, where the Lord of the Flies is the closest thing to an owner’s manual”, according to a review posted in the Guardian recently.

Read More

Stormy Daniels to Publish Tell-All Memoir

By | New Releases, Political | No Comments
Adult film star Stormy Daniels, who is alleged to have had an affair with Donald Trump is to publish a tell-all memoir next month and the title, fittingly will be Full Disclosure.

The ‘funny, sharp, warm and impassioned’ book will be published simultaneously on October 2nd in the USA, UK, Australia, South Africa, India, and Germany in hardcover, ebook and audio formats.
Read More

To Kill a Mockingbird Becomes a Graphic Novel

By | New Releases | No Comments
Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird was first published in 1960 and is arguably one of the finest novels ever written. The book has been critically acclaimed for its exploration into racism, innocence, and justice, and it has more than earned the title of a modern classic.

If you’re a fan of the original novel, or you’re a comic book nerd who’s heard great things about the book, then you’ll be pleased to learn that To Kill a Mockingbird is being adapted into a 260 page graphic novel that follows the original story with beautiful illustrations.
Read More