George Orwell’s 1984 Comes to Broadway!

book of the month

George Orwell’s dystopian novel 1984 has once again become very popular in recent times and, with that increase in popularity, the story recaptured people in a new and inspired way.

It was created in 2014 by Robert Icke and Duncan Macmillan who jointly adapted the famous novel for London Playhouse Theatre. Their distillation of Orwell’s message was well received by critics, despite some reservations about such a famous story being brought to life for the modern era, and the rich, detailed dramatisation will soon be making its way to Broadway, in the USA.

(Credit: Manuel Harlan)




The stage play is set to open at the Hudson Theatre on June 22 with previews happening in May. It will be driven by the creative force of producers Sonia Freidman and Scott Rudin, along with their team: scene and costume designer Chloe Lamford, lighting designer Natasha Chivers, sound designer Tom Gibbons and video designer Tim Reid. 

The cast has been announced and among them will be Tony winner Reed Birney in the role of O’Brien, and Tony nominee Tom Sturridge playing Winston Smith. There is exciting news for fans of Tron: Legacy (2010), or the TV series House, as the actress set to play Julia is the wonderful Olivia Wilde. We wish her the best of luck in her Broadway debut!

If any of our Reading Addicts are lucky enough to see it performed on Broadway, or saw it run at the West End in London, we would love to know what you thought. Send us a comment below, or on our Facebook page.




Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By | New Releases | No Comments
book of the month
Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.

Read More

13 Ridiculous Ways to Store Your Books

By | Arty, Inspired by Literature | No Comments
book of the month
Storing books used to be so easy: all one would have to do is place a book on a shelf and hey presto! Your books are displayed.

Some people have decided that bookshelves are so last century and have been attempting some daring and kooky shelving options. Books can now be dangled, strung up, float on invisible shelves, be shoved in some foam padding, or displayed like an arty picture. Anything constitutes a shelf now: pipes, crates, a knife block- the ultimate recycling.

Check out some of the ridiculous idea below and see if you fancy adopting one of these shelving ideas!

Read More

‘Fear’ by Bob Woodward Has Sold Almost as Many Copies in a Week as ‘The Art of the Deal’ Has in 30 Years

By | New Releases, Political | No Comments
book of the month
Bob Woodward’s Fear is arguably the biggest book of 2018 and, despite being released only last week, has already sold over a million copies. It was reported that the book sold 750,000 copies in its first day of sales alone. Fear‘s publisher Simon & Schuster spoke to CNN on Tuesday and said it had sold more than 1.1 million copies, making it the fastest selling book in the company’s history. A tenth printing is currently on order which will push book sales up to 1.2 million copies sold.
Read More

We Have Always Lived in the Castle: The Adaptation Trailer is Here

By | Adaptations, News | No Comments
book of the month
I wouldn’t say that Gothic fiction is exactly my thing, but I needed a novel of this genre for October’s Cwts Book Club. I trawled through my TBR pile and came across Shirley Jackson’s, We Have Always Lived in the Castle. I flew through the book, loving the mystery behind why the two girls, and their uncle are living away from the rest of the world, in their “castle”.

Imagine my delight when only a couple of days after I had finished We Have Always Lived in the Castle, I saw a trailer for the film version, which is released this month, starring Taissa Farmiga, Alexandra Daddario, and Sebastian Stan . Having watched the trailer, I can honestly say that it appears to follow the book, word for word. I now can’t wait to watch the rest and see Merricat and Constance’s story on the big screen! Read More

One Comment

Leave a Reply