Irish Fiction Laureate Named as Sebastian Barry

By February 12, 2018Authors, Literary Awards, News
book of the month

It’s been announced that Sebastian Barry will be the new Laureate for Irish fiction for the next three years, hailing what he called the current ‘golden age for prose writing in Ireland’.

The popular author of many books including Birdsong (USUK) and Days Without End (USUK) will take over the role from Anne Enright and begins his time as Laureate from 2018-2021 later this month. It’s not just about the honour of being laureate either, part of the role is to inspire a new generation of writers, promote Irish literature internationally and encourage the public to choose Irish fiction.

Speaking at the Laureate ceremony in Ireland, Barry said of the role

“It is no burden to assert, to as many people as possible in as many places as possible, that we live in a golden age of prose writing in Ireland. And I am really happy to be the ambassador of this rather stupendous reality for a few years. Writers reading their own work can make an illuminating music and show something important about it in the very act of ‘singing’ it. I would like to pay homage to this during the course of my laureateship”.

The Laureate for Irish Fiction is supported by the Arts Council and is run in partnership with University College Dublin and New York University.

It’s likely we’ll be hearing a lot from the double Costa winning author during his laureateship and you can expect to hear about some other great Irish authors too.

New Literary Award Launches for Funny Women Writers

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
In recent years the Wodehouse prize, the only literary prize for comic fiction, has come under scrutiny and accusations of sexism after only awarding the prize to women three times in its eighteen years. Since 1991, Helen Fielding, Marina Lewycka and Hannah Rothschild are the only authors to win the prize and accusations of sexism have been rife. Read More

BAME Short Story Competition Shortlisters Announced

By | Competitions and Giveaways, Literary Awards, Literature | No Comments
book of the month
The BAME Short Story Competition from The Guardian/Fourth Estate was announced back in April 2018 and six finalists have now been announced.

The competition was created to help promote the work of British Asian Minority Ethnic (BAME) writers who have been vastly underrepresented in the publishing world.

The winner will receive a chance to win £1,000, an exclusive one‑day publishing workshop and a taste of online publication.

The six finalists for this year’s competition have been announced- with stories about pixies and changeling children, Grenfell Tower, grief and music, and more.

The overall winner will be announced on the 12th of September.

Read More

Winners Announced for Wales Book of the Year 2018

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
Every year Literature Wales holds their awards to find Wales’ Book of the Year and the 2018 winners were announced earlier this month. At the awards ceremony in Cardiff it was a collection of poetry that picked up the main award as Robert Minhinnick’s highly acclaimed Diary of the Last Man became the Wales Book of the Year 2018.

The collection was shortlisted for the T. S Eliot prize last year and won the Roland Mathias Poetry Prize before being announced as Wales Book of the Year 2018. The collection is described by the author as as a walk across Britain; Brexit Britain, a Britain facing political uncertainty and experiencing change of all kinds, not least climate change. In parts immensely local, in others casting its view abroad, this collection is a celebration of the dwindling Earth, and a caution.
Read More

Finalists Named for New Literary Immigration Award

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
Last year, North Virginia’s Oldest Literary Festival, The Fall of the Book decided to create a literary immigration award in order to “illuminate the complexity of human experience as told by immigrants, whose work is historically underrepresented in writing and publishing.”. The inaugural award takes place this year and now the three finalists have been named.

The new award is set to celebrate immigrants at a time when immigrant has become a dirty word. The three finalists are below, and the winner will be announced on 11th October at George Mason University. Read More

The Man Booker Long List 2018 is Here

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
It’s that time of the year, when the long list for one of the most prestigious literary prizes in literature is here. It’s time for the Man Booker long list 2018 and it’s already come under much praise and criticism.

On Twitter, criticism has already been laid for the lack of diversity in authors in the list, something that seems to be becoming a bit of a regular occurrence for many of the bigger literary prizes. However, the list has also been praised for including a graphic novel for the first time in the prize’s history. Read More

Neil Gaiman Wins Science Fiction Poetry Prize

By | Literary Awards, Poetry | No Comments
book of the month
Neil Gaiman’s poem The Mushroom Hunters has won first prize in the Long Poem category at The 2018 Rhysling Awards.

The Science Fiction Poetry Association’s award was started in 1978 in recognition of achievements in the field of speculative poetry. The award was named after the blind singer and storyteller “Noisy” Rhysling, the protagonist of Robert A. Heinlein’s “The Green Hills of Earth“.

Neil Gaiman’s poem The Mushroom Hunters beat a whole array of other-worldly poems to gain the prestigious first prize for a long poem. The poem has been heralded as the “first feminist poem about the dawn of science“.

Watch the reading, or read it yourself below.

Read More

Leave a Reply