Kindle Storyteller Award Back for Second Year

By April 19, 2018Literary Awards, Literature, News
book of the month

Last year Kindle announced its first ever Storyteller Award for authors who publish their work through Kindle Direct Publishing in the UK. Last year the thriller, The Relic Hunters won the first ever award and now it’s announced that the award is back for a second year.

On 10th April Amazon UK opened this year’s awards, a literary prize recognising outstanding work by self published authors. To qualify for the 2018 award you must have published your book via Kindle Direct Publishing, between 1st May 2018 and 31st August 2018.

Readers help to choose the winner as customer interest in the book is a big factor in creating a shortlist. In addition to this a panel of esteemed judges from the book and publishing industry who will then select the Kindle Storyteller 2018 winner in the Autumn.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony to be held in central London in the Autumn, and the winner will receive a £20,000 cash prize, a marketing campaign to support the book on Amazon and the chance to have the book translated for international sales.

Kindle Direct Publishing means it’s never been so easy to publish a book and this award is strong encouragement for that and the chance for self-published authors, who are often excluded from esteemed literary awards, to receive recognition for their work.

For the award at least five books from all the submissions will be selected by a shortlist, created by readers and their interest in the books. The judging panel will then select a winner.

If you’re an author and you’d like more information on the award you can find out how to enter, and find more information at

New Literary Award Launches for Funny Women Writers

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
In recent years the Wodehouse prize, the only literary prize for comic fiction, has come under scrutiny and accusations of sexism after only awarding the prize to women three times in its eighteen years. Since 1991, Helen Fielding, Marina Lewycka and Hannah Rothschild are the only authors to win the prize and accusations of sexism have been rife. Read More

BAME Short Story Competition Shortlisters Announced

By | Competitions and Giveaways, Literary Awards, Literature | No Comments
book of the month
The BAME Short Story Competition from The Guardian/Fourth Estate was announced back in April 2018 and six finalists have now been announced.

The competition was created to help promote the work of British Asian Minority Ethnic (BAME) writers who have been vastly underrepresented in the publishing world.

The winner will receive a chance to win £1,000, an exclusive one‑day publishing workshop and a taste of online publication.

The six finalists for this year’s competition have been announced- with stories about pixies and changeling children, Grenfell Tower, grief and music, and more.

The overall winner will be announced on the 12th of September.

Read More

Winners Announced for Wales Book of the Year 2018

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
Every year Literature Wales holds their awards to find Wales’ Book of the Year and the 2018 winners were announced earlier this month. At the awards ceremony in Cardiff it was a collection of poetry that picked up the main award as Robert Minhinnick’s highly acclaimed Diary of the Last Man became the Wales Book of the Year 2018.

The collection was shortlisted for the T. S Eliot prize last year and won the Roland Mathias Poetry Prize before being announced as Wales Book of the Year 2018. The collection is described by the author as as a walk across Britain; Brexit Britain, a Britain facing political uncertainty and experiencing change of all kinds, not least climate change. In parts immensely local, in others casting its view abroad, this collection is a celebration of the dwindling Earth, and a caution.
Read More

Finalists Named for New Literary Immigration Award

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
Last year, North Virginia’s Oldest Literary Festival, The Fall of the Book decided to create a literary immigration award in order to “illuminate the complexity of human experience as told by immigrants, whose work is historically underrepresented in writing and publishing.”. The inaugural award takes place this year and now the three finalists have been named.

The new award is set to celebrate immigrants at a time when immigrant has become a dirty word. The three finalists are below, and the winner will be announced on 11th October at George Mason University. Read More

The Man Booker Long List 2018 is Here

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
book of the month
It’s that time of the year, when the long list for one of the most prestigious literary prizes in literature is here. It’s time for the Man Booker long list 2018 and it’s already come under much praise and criticism.

On Twitter, criticism has already been laid for the lack of diversity in authors in the list, something that seems to be becoming a bit of a regular occurrence for many of the bigger literary prizes. However, the list has also been praised for including a graphic novel for the first time in the prize’s history. Read More

Neil Gaiman Wins Science Fiction Poetry Prize

By | Literary Awards, Poetry | No Comments
book of the month
Neil Gaiman’s poem The Mushroom Hunters has won first prize in the Long Poem category at The 2018 Rhysling Awards.

The Science Fiction Poetry Association’s award was started in 1978 in recognition of achievements in the field of speculative poetry. The award was named after the blind singer and storyteller “Noisy” Rhysling, the protagonist of Robert A. Heinlein’s “The Green Hills of Earth“.

Neil Gaiman’s poem The Mushroom Hunters beat a whole array of other-worldly poems to gain the prestigious first prize for a long poem. The poem has been heralded as the “first feminist poem about the dawn of science“.

Watch the reading, or read it yourself below.

Read More

Leave a Reply