Man Booker to Accept Irish Submissions for the First Time

By January 8, 2018Literary Awards, News

2018 is going to be an exciting year for the Man Booker as the prize celebrates it’s fiftieth year with a raft of celebrations and awards. And for Irish publishers, it’ll be an extra special year as for the first time author’s from the country will be able to submit books for consideration.

The move is likely to curb a lot of frustration felt by Irish publishers about the situation, especially as there’s never been any good reason for the exclusion. The entire situation is caused by an anomaly, simply because Irish books aren’t published in the UK, but that has now been rectified.

Until now the award was available to anyone writing in English and publishing in the UK, but this excluded Irish authors such as Mike McCormack, whose Solar Bones was originally published in Dublin. After positive reviews across the world, Scottish publisher Canongate republished the novel, making it eligible to be longlisted for the 2017 Man Booker prize. Solar Bones while used as an example, isn’t a standalone case, hundreds of respected literary works come out of Ireland every year, each one knowing they cannot be a Man Booker winner… Until now.

Both the UK and Ireland are part of the British Isles and as such the publishing industries are deeply intertwined, something that was making this anomaly even more frustrating. It also meant that smaller Irish publishing houses had little chance of keeping authors once they had become successful, stifling the Irish literary industry.

From 2018, Irish publishers will be free to enter applicants for the award as the Man Booker marks its fiftieth year. American author George Sanders won the Man Booker for 2017, but we could see an Irish author this year. We’ll know that towards the end of the year, but the longlist will be available from July.

Winner of the Alternative Nobel Prize is Announced

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Back in August it was announced that a New Academy had been created to award an alternative Nobel Prize for Literature after the Swedish Academy was caught in a mire of controversy amid a rape scandal. The New Academy was put together by more than a hundred important cultural figures, journalists, writers and authors to honour literary greats with a new prize.

In August four authors were shortlisted, Haruki Murakami of Japan, who soon withdrew himself from the competition, Vietnamese-Canadian writer Kim Thúy; Maryse Condé of Guadeloupe; and British author Neil Gaiman who is based in the USA.
Read More

National Book Award Finalists 2018

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Last month we brought you the longlists in each category for the National Book Awards 2018, and now it’s time for the finalists! There are five finalists in each category, making 25 books in all, with an extra category added this year for translated literature too.

The winners for each category will be announced on November 14th, but for now let’s take a look at those finalists and the books that made the final cut.

Read More

Winner of the Kindle Storyteller Award 2018 Announced

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Back in April we brought you the news that the Kindle Storyteller Award was back for a second year. The award launched in 2017 giving self published authors the opportunity to win their first literary prize. The prize recognises outstanding work by self published authors and to qualify authors must publish using the Kindle Direct Publishing platform.

Last weekend at a glittering award ceremony the 2018 winner was announced as Hannah Lynn for her book The Afterlife of Walter Augustus. She was handed the award by celebrity judge Lorraine Kelly and will now receive a host of prizes and benefits.

Read More

Jean-Claude Arnault of the Nobel Prize scandal has been convicted of rape

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Jean-Claude Arnault was accused last year of using his position and power to dominate and coerce women into sex. It has since been revealed that he has been convicted of rape.

The scandal first came to light last November when the Dagens Nyheter newspaper wrote of allegations by 18 different women all accusing Arnault of rape, sexual harassment, physical abuse and harassment over a period of more than 20 years. Eight of those women filed formal complaints however, all but one have been dropped due to lack of evidence or exceeding the statute of limitations.

The 72 yr old ‘photographer’ denies all charges and his lawyer has stated he will appeal if convicted.

Read More

The Man Booker Shortlist 2018 is here

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Earlier in the year we brought you the longlist for one of the most coveted prizes in literature, the Man Booker Prize. The longlist is know as the Man Booker Dozen but now that’s been whittled down to the prestigious shortlist, six novels among which is the Man Booker winner 2018.

We have that shortlist here so without further ado here are the books in the running for the 2018 Man Booker prize.

The 2018 winner will be announced on Tuesday 16th October, about a month from now in London’s Guildhall. The winning ceremony will be aired on the BBC and we’ll bring you news of that winner as soon as it breaks!

Read More

2018 National Book Awards Longlist: Nonfiction

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
All this week we’ve been bringing you the longlists for the National Book Awards, courtesy of the New Yorker. We started with fiction, then young people’s literature before covering the translated literature longlist and yesterday poetry. Today it’s time for the final longlist, nonfiction.

There’s no denying it’s been a tumultuous couple of years in the world and lots of people, authors, and artists have shown concern for the future. Those concerns have certainly come through in published works as the nonfiction longlist shows.

And here it is, the ten books selection for the National Book Awards Longlist for Nonfiction.

Read More

Leave a Reply