Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019. And the winner is…

Last night at an awards party in Bedford Square, Bloomsbury the winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction was finally announced.

The award founded in 1996 was set up to “celebrate originality, accessibility & excellence in writing by women and to connect world-class writers with readers everywhere”.

Chosen from the shortlist the winner Tayari Jones was selected by the panel of judges for 2019, Professor Kate Williams (Chair), author and historian, Arifa Akbar, journalist and critic, Dolly Alderton, columnist, broadcaster and author, Leyla Hussein, campaigner and psychotherapist and Sarah Wood, digital entrepreneur.

The prize for her novel, “An American Marriage”, was presented by Professor Kate Williams the chair of the judges. An excited Tayari Jones thanked the judges and The Women’s Prize and said “I think we need women’s voices now in these times more than ever”.

If you would like to read celebrity reviews of all the shortlisted titles including of course the winner, click here or you can listen to interviews with all the shortlisted authors on the Women’s Prize Podcast.

Leave your vote

Leave a Reply

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.