5 World War II Novels Coming Out This Summer

By July 17, 2017New Releases, News
book of the month

I’m a huge fan of historical fiction, particularly that set around the years that World War II took place. Thankfully it’s a pretty broad and rich genre, but I’m always on the look out for new reads and this summer I’m spoiled for choice!

There’s an absolute slew of brand new World War II fiction novels coming out this summer; so many in fact that I thought I’d do a blog of the best ones, for those who love the genre as much as I do!

It’s Europe, it’s 1940, and here are some great new releases!

The Lost Letter – Jillian Cantor

It’s Austria, 1938 and Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans but that doesn’t stop him working with the underground.

Zoom forward to Los Angeles, 1989 as Katie Nelson comes across her father’s stamp collection after he moved to a nursing home, sending her on a journey to learn about her father’s past and to uncover a story of passion and tragedy.

Release Date – June 13th 2017

The Lost Letter US
The Lost Letter UK

Submit a Review

A Boy in Winter – Rachel Seiffert

It’s a cold grey morning in 1941 when a small, Ukrainian town is overrun by the SS and a Boy in Winter tells the story of the three days that follow. Imprisoned with his fellow Jews, Ephraim anxiously awaits word of his two sons who have been missing since daybreak, German engineer Otto Pohl only fled to escape what he saw as an illegal war and is about to end up faced with an even greater crime with no one to help. In the middle of it all is Yankel, a boy determined to survive. A Boy in Winter is a story of hope at a time when all seemed lost and is set to be one of the best sellers of the summer.

Release Date – June 1st 2017

A Boy in Winter US
A Boy in Winter UK

Submit a Review?

Stars Over Clear Lake – Loretta Elsworth

Set during the 1940s and inspired by a real life ballroom, Stars Over Clear Lake is a moving story of forbidden love, the loss that came with men who followed duty and nostalgia. Lorraine Kindred has strong memories of the Surf Ballroom and visiting for the first time in decades brings all the pain of World War II rushing back.

Release Date – May 2nd 2017

Stars Over Clear Lake US
Stars Over Clear Lake UK

Submit a Review?



The Alice Network – Kate Quinn

This new historical novel from Kate Quinn focuses on the lives of two women, a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France in World War I, and an American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947. The two are finally brought together in a fantastic story of courage and redemption.

Set in the aftermath of World War II, but focusing on both wars we find ourselves in Nazi occupied France, and back in the early part of the century fighting in an occupied France years before.

Release Date – June 6th 2017

The Alice Network US
The Alice Network UK

Submit a Review

Goodnight From London – Jennifer Robson

Author of Somewhere in France and Moonlight Over Paris brings us a brand new historical romance this summer with Goodnight from London. The book follows the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American journalist who ended up in London during World War II.

Then the bombs begin to fall, and in the horror of the never ending Blitz Ruby stops being observer as she’s part of the action and it’s here she learns about love, loyalty and friendship.

Release Date – May 2nd 2017

Goodnight from London US
Goodnight from London UK

Submit a Review?

Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By | New Releases | No Comments
book of the month
Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.

Read More

‘Fear’ by Bob Woodward Has Sold Almost as Many Copies in a Week as ‘The Art of the Deal’ Has in 30 Years

By | New Releases, Political | No Comments
book of the month
Bob Woodward’s Fear is arguably the biggest book of 2018 and, despite being released only last week, has already sold over a million copies. It was reported that the book sold 750,000 copies in its first day of sales alone. Fear‘s publisher Simon & Schuster spoke to CNN on Tuesday and said it had sold more than 1.1 million copies, making it the fastest selling book in the company’s history. A tenth printing is currently on order which will push book sales up to 1.2 million copies sold.
Read More

10 books by UK comedians to tickle your funny bone

By | Literature, New Releases | No Comments
book of the month
Comedians in the UK have always tried to test the boundaries of humour, shine a light on odd cultural norms, and have been instrumental in the evolution of comedy as we know it.

From Laurel and Hardy to Monty Python’s Flying Circus, from the alternative comedy of the 1980s (Ben Elton, Jennifer Saunders) to innovative comedy of the 1990s (Simon Pegg, Jessica Stevenson)- the UK has always been at the forefront of comedy as it evolves.

Many UK comedians currently have autobiographies or humorous non-fiction titles available in your local bookshop: here are our favourites from the most recent releases.

Read More

New Book Explores the Relationship Between Writers and their Cats

By | Authors, New Releases | No Comments
book of the month
Released last month, Writers and Their Cats does exactly what it says on the tin. Writers are a solitary sort, at home all day, and so it does make them perfect for keeping house pets and cats and writing kind of go hand in hand. I’ve often wondered how many authors have a feline muse, draped across their lap as they type and now it seems this new book has all the answers.

This volume celebrates forty five famous writers including Mark Twain, Haruki Murakami, and Ursula K. Le Guin, who have shared their home and writing space with a feline friend. There are photographs and stories all exploring that special bond between wordsmith and mouser.

Here’s a taster:

Read More

West Virginian Library Reverses Decision Not to Stock Bob Woodward’s ‘Fear’

By | Libraries, New Releases, News, Political | No Comments
book of the month
A few days ago, it was reported that the Morgan County Public Library in Berkeley Springs, W.Va was refusing to stock the newly released, and much sought after, Bob Woodward book Fear, which takes a critical look at Trump’s time as POTUS. However, following an enormous backlash from local residents, which soon saw the story make headlines, the library has confirmed it will be lending out Fear.

Despite only being published last Friday, Fear has already proven to be one of the biggest books of the year and reportedly sold over 750,000 copies within its first day of sales, it is also the fastest-selling adult book since Harper Lee’s 2015 book Go Set a Watchmen.
Read More

The Duchess of Sussex Supports Grenfell Cookbook

By | New Releases | No Comments
book of the month
Meghan, the new Duchess of Sussex has been making secret trips to the Hubb kitchen, a community mosque where residents got together to cook for victims of the tragedy, particularly those who were left in hotels without cooking facilities.

The group were getting together twice a week to cook family meals, bringing the community together and after a suggestion from the Duchess will now be releasing a cookbook for charity.

Read More



Leave a Reply