Bill Clinton and James Patterson Co-Write ‘The President is Missing’ - For Reading Addicts

Bill Clinton and James Patterson Co-Write ‘The President is Missing’

By January 9, 2018 Authors, New Releases

Yes, ‘that’ Bill Clinton

James Patterson has been collaborating on novels with other writers for a while now, in fact it’s fast becoming his trademark, so hearing he’s worked on another collaboration isn’t really a surprise.

The shocking news here is that this collaboration sees him work with ex-president of the United States, Bill Clinton in a novel about a fictional president going missing.

The thriller will be published in June 2018 and is almost certain to appeal to fans of both Patterson and Clinton. The collaboration means that readers will get a unique insight to the workings of the White House, as written by a former president and this work is likely to bring to life the very real pressures of being a sitting president.

It’s not the first book from the 42nd President, but it’s the first time he’s written a novel, and is actually the first time an American president has ever co-authored a thriller.

And while the book isn’t even on the shelves yet, a bidding war for the television rights to the book has already taken place with Showtime winning the bidding war to develop the thriller for television. It’s not known yet when that might air but The President is Missing, is out on June 4th.

New Bill Bryson Book Exploring the Human Body Coming in the Autumn

By | New Releases | No Comments
Fans of Bill Bryson will be thrilled to hear that later this year, Transworld is to publish a brand new book from the author. The Body: A Guide for Occupants will be published in October and is promised to be “an extraordinary exploration of the human body which will have you marvelling at the form you occupy”.

Anyone familiar with Bryson’s writing will know that this book will bring us interesting facts in his own unique and charismatic voice. The book will be a successor to Bryson’s 2010 book A Short History of Nearly Everything and will help readers “understand the miracle of our physical and neurological make up”, according to a press release from the publisher.

Read More

Jeanette Winterson’s Frankenstein for the Modern Age – Frankissstein

By | New Releases | No Comments
Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein was first published in January 1818 but over 100 years later this story of a doctor creating artificial intelligence still resonates with readers.

In May this year, Jonathan Cape, an imprint of Penguin Random House, is publishing an exciting new re-write of Shelley’s gothic tale. Written by Jeanette Winterson, of Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit fame, the new book is titled Frankissstein. A love story set in a Brexit Britain, Frankissstein features a young transgender doctor called Ry who is falling in love with Victor Stein, a professor leading the debate surrounding artificial intelligence (AI). Read More

New Book from Malala Yousafzai Tells Stories of Refugees

By | New Releases | No Comments
Out this week is a brand new book from Nobel Peace Prize winner and activisit Malala Yousafzai. The book is part memoir, part communal storytelling and charts her experience travelling the world and visiting refugee camps.

We Are Displaced was released on 8th January and is already reported to be selling well and on sale in many countries in the world already including the UK, US and India.

Read More

Zadie Smith to Publish Her First Short Story Collection Next Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
Zadie Smith shot to fame in the year 2000 with the release of her first novel White Teeth. Four novels later and the author has announced that she plans to publish her first short story collection next year in 2019.

Called Grand Union, the collection will include ten brand new short stories as well as several of her best previously published stories. As The Book Seller reports, Grand Union will weave old and new stories together and, as Smith’s publisher states, will offer “a wise, playful and richly varied portrait of the world as seen by the one and only Zadie Smith”.
Read More

Tom Fletcher to Publish Sequel to the Chistmasaurus

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
The Christmasaurus was a resounding success and one of the biggest children’s books of 2016 and now it’s announced that Tom Fletcher is writing a sequel and it’s to be published by Puffin Books later in 2019.

The sequel to Fletcher’s debut novel will be called The Chirstmasaurus and the Winter Witch and will be written by Tom Fletcher and illustrated by Shane Devries. The events in the book take place one year after the first book when William Trundle is swept back into the North Pole where he meets the Winter Witch.

Read More

John Le Carré’s New Novel Will Focus on ‘Division and Rage’

By | New Releases | No Comments
He may be 87 years old, but John Le Carré shows no signs of slowing down when it comes to writing. His upcoming novel, Agent Running, will be set in London in 2018 and will tackle “the division and rage at the heart of our modern world.”

According to publisher Viking, the novel follows a 26-year-old “solitary” man who, “in a desperate attempt to resist the new political turbulence swirling around him, makes connections that will take him down a very dangerous path.” Agent Running will be Le Carré’s 25th novel and is set to be released next year in October.
Read More



Leave a Reply