Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By Sep 24, 2018New Releases

Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.




She also explained, “The previous books in the Noughts and Crosses series were written in reply to contemporary events. Crossfire is no different. I want to write a book that turned the spotlight on not just elections and politics but the pursuit of power. At the heart of Crossfire, however, are the relationships between Tobey and Callie-Rose as teens and adults, as well as the relationship between two new characters, Libby and Troy, who represent the third generation of protagonist within the Noughts and Crosses series. I’m thrilled to be revisiting the Noughts and Crosses world again.”

Her publisher, Ruth Knowles, added, “It is a story like no other for these tumultuous times, and it will undoubtedly continue to be read alongside similarly revolutionary fiction such as The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power for many generations to come.”

And, if that news isn’t exciting enough, there is also a BBC adaptation of Noughts and Crosses due to be screened in 2019!

If you can’t wait till then, why not re-read the series. Or, if you haven’t read the series, get ready for the new book and TV adaptation by picking up a new series.

 

This story originally appeared on the Booksbird blog and is reproduced with permission.

Eco-Friendly Author Left Outraged After Discovering His Anti-Plastic Book Is Packed in Plastic

By | New Releases | No Comments
Earlier this year, British writer Martin Dorey published a book called No. More. Plastic.: What You Can Do to Make a Difference. The book examines the disastrous effects plastic waste is having on our planet and gives readers plenty of advice on how to reduce the amount of plastic waste they create.

Dorey was then stunned to find that copies of his book were being delivered by his American distributor wrapped in plastic. Dorey described the error as an “absolute shambles” and pointed out that it shows how we use plastic “with our eyes closed”.

Read More

Margaret Atwood is Writing Handmaid’s Tale Sequel and We’re Screaming With Excitement

By | Authors, New Releases | No Comments
I can’t believe I am actually typing this but thirty-three years after the publication of The Handmaid’s Tale and on the back of the hugely successful television series, Margaret Atwood has confirmed that she is writing a sequel!

The author announced the news on Twitter today and gave some information about the upcoming book, which is to be called The Testaments. Here’s what she said:

Read More

Tom Baker has written a new Doctor Who novel

By | New Releases, Television | No Comments
Tom Baker is best known as the fourth incarnation of The Doctor in the BBC series of Doctor Who.

His stint as The Doctor continued for 7 series- consisting of a massive 172 episodes, and he still remains one of the most popular Doctors to this day. His love for the Whoniverse continues as shown by his latest project- Scratchman- a Fourth Doctor novel that never saw the light of day, until now! The novel is dark, exciting, tense, and just perfectly Who. Tom’s inimitable wordsmithery combined with the gripping plot will guarantee this novel real success.

Read More

Bloomsbury to Publish Anne Frank Collection Next Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
Next year, on what would’ve marked Anne Frank’s 90th birthday, Bloomsbury Continuum will be publishing Anne Frank: The Collected Works. The collection has been described by the publisher as “an essential book for scholars and general readers alike”. The publication brings together all of Frank’s writings along with important documents and photographs.

As The Book Seller reports, the collection will be released on May 30th, the set includes both Anne’ ‘A’ and ‘B’ diaries, which are made up of the original diary and the edited one. A definitive readers version called ‘D’ is also included which has been edited by Mirjam Pressler, the German translator of Frank’s diary who has also published a book about her life.
Read More

Oprah’s Book Club Recommends Michelle Obama Memoir

By | Authors, New Releases | One Comment
Oprah has made Becoming by Michelle Obama the latest edition to her book club.

Released November 2018, Michelle Obama’s memoir follows her life “from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world’s most famous address,” her publisher has said.

Oprah has chosen Michelle’s memoirs for her honesty and vulnerability- naming it the perfect read this year to gain an insight into what it was really like being the ‘first Black First family’.

See Oprah and Michelle chatting about the new release here, and don’t forget to order your copy of Mrs Obama’s memoirs below!

Read More



Leave a Reply