Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By September 24, 2018 February 7th, 2019 New Releases

Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.




She also explained, “The previous books in the Noughts and Crosses series were written in reply to contemporary events. Crossfire is no different. I want to write a book that turned the spotlight on not just elections and politics but the pursuit of power. At the heart of Crossfire, however, are the relationships between Tobey and Callie-Rose as teens and adults, as well as the relationship between two new characters, Libby and Troy, who represent the third generation of protagonist within the Noughts and Crosses series. I’m thrilled to be revisiting the Noughts and Crosses world again.”

Her publisher, Ruth Knowles, added, “It is a story like no other for these tumultuous times, and it will undoubtedly continue to be read alongside similarly revolutionary fiction such as The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power for many generations to come.”

And, if that news isn’t exciting enough, there is also a BBC adaptation of Noughts and Crosses due to be screened in 2019!

If you can’t wait till then, why not re-read the series. Or, if you haven’t read the series, get ready for the new book and TV adaptation by picking up a new series.

 

This story originally appeared on the Booksbird blog and is reproduced with permission.

Little Miss Inventor Joins the Mr Men/Little Miss Collection

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
The Mr. Men books, illustrated and written by Roger Hargreaves have been a hit with children since 1971 when they were first published and the collection was later increased to include female characters in 1981 with an accompanying series, Little Miss. Now, the Little Miss collection is about to be joined by a new character, Little Miss Inventor.
Read More

On the Come Up Playlist

By | New Releases | No Comments
Angie Thomas’ On the Come up was released this month and is her second novel, following the success of The Hate U Give. On the Come Up returns to Garden Heights and follows the story of 16-year-old music lover, Bri who wants to became a great rapper. But, as the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he made it big, she’s got big shoes to fill if she’s going to make it in the music world.

Read More

New Book Reveals Stieg Larsson’s Investigations of Swedish PM’s Assassination

By | New Releases | No Comments
Stieg Larsson is best known for writing the critically acclaimed Millennium series, which shot to fame with the publication of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in 2005. Stieg had just finished working on the second two instalments before he died unexpectedly and the two novels were published to equal acclaim. Before he became a novelist, Larsson spent much of his life as a journalist and, it has now been revealed, was investigating the 1986 assassination of the Swedish prime minister Olof Palme.

Read More

Margaret Atwood Reveals Haunting Cover for The Testaments

By | New Releases | No Comments
When the news that Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale was getting a sequel dropped before Christmas, fans took a collective gasp! The 1985 novel ends on a bit of a cliff hanger and until the television series we’ve all been wondering what happens next.

The Testaments is set 15 years after Offred’s final scenes and so doesn’t interfere with the television series at all. Back in November when the novel was announced via the author’s Twitter page, there was no cover but now the front cover has been revealed and it’s as haunting as we imagined it would be!

Read More



Leave a Reply