Brand New Malorie Blackman Book on the Way

By September 24, 2018New Releases

Fans of Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series listen up! Blackman is publishing a new book in this brilliant series. The first four Noughts and Crosses books are a brilliant way for young people to learn and think about race and class through the window of literature. And, of course, the fifth book in the series is set to be no different.

Crossfire, which will be published next summer, is set several years after Double Cross which was published in 2008. The book will follow some of the same characters including Sephy, and Sephy and Callum’s now-adult daughter, Callie Rose. Alongside the characters you will remember from before, we will also meet some new teenage protagonists. Blackman told The Bookseller that her inspiration to continue the series came from Brexit, Trump, and the rise of the far-right in Europe.




She also explained, “The previous books in the Noughts and Crosses series were written in reply to contemporary events. Crossfire is no different. I want to write a book that turned the spotlight on not just elections and politics but the pursuit of power. At the heart of Crossfire, however, are the relationships between Tobey and Callie-Rose as teens and adults, as well as the relationship between two new characters, Libby and Troy, who represent the third generation of protagonist within the Noughts and Crosses series. I’m thrilled to be revisiting the Noughts and Crosses world again.”

Her publisher, Ruth Knowles, added, “It is a story like no other for these tumultuous times, and it will undoubtedly continue to be read alongside similarly revolutionary fiction such as The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power for many generations to come.”

And, if that news isn’t exciting enough, there is also a BBC adaptation of Noughts and Crosses due to be screened in 2019!

If you can’t wait till then, why not re-read the series. Or, if you haven’t read the series, get ready for the new book and TV adaptation by picking up a new series.

 

This story originally appeared on the Booksbird blog and is reproduced with permission.

Clare Mackintosh Teases New Book on Twitter

By | New Releases | No Comments
Since Clare Mackintosh released I Let You Go back in 2014, she’s become a firm favourite with crime thriller and suspense fans. Since that debut, two more books have followed, I See You in 2016 and Let me Lie in early 2018. Now the author has a new book in the works and made an announcement via Twitter to fans.

In a series of Twitter posts on 12th October 2018, Clare Mackintosh teased details of an upcoming book in a series of tweets. It all started with ‘May I tell you about my new book?’

Read More

Matt Haig to Release ‘Heartwarming’ Children’s Book

By | New Releases | No Comments
Best-selling author Matt Haig has helped many with his unique brand of speculative fiction and nonfiction works and can often be found on Twitter speaking a lot of sense about mental health issues and the ways in which we can all help ourselves to live our best lives.

His best-selling nonfiction work Reasons to Stay Alive was a number one Sunday Times bestseller spending 46 weeks in the top ten, and more recently How to Stop Time was nominated for several awards and is said to have been optioned for film.

Read More

Christopher Paolini Announces New Eragon Book

By | New Releases | No Comments
If you enjoyed Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series then you’ll be pleased to learn that Eragon is set to return in a new book called The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm – Tales From Alagaësia (Volume 1: Eragon). The book will see Paolini return to his fantasy world for the first time since Inheritance was published in 2011.

The book will be a collection of three short stories which are interspersed with scenes from Eragon’s own travels. The book’s official website gives a synopsis which reads:
Read More

10 exciting new books to be released in 2019

By | Literature, New Releases | No Comments
New books is one subject guaranteed to excite a reading addict and 2019 will not disappoint.

We will be introduced to the City Above the Sky, travel the Earthly realm, and freak out on Fear Street with R.L. Stine’s latest YA horror. 2019 will be bringing us an eclectic range of thrillers, sci-fi, romance, YA, and fast paced fiction to keep us entertained through the year.

You’re guaranteed to find a book you love…

Read More



Leave a Reply