Gillian Anderson’s We: A Manifesto For Women Everywhere

By March 10, 2017Authors, New Releases

We: A Manifesto is a piece of work by actress Gillian Anderson and journalist Jennifer Nadel. The two friends have worked together on this project in hopes to give women a push towards freeing themselves from, well, themselves.

This new release begins:

“Imagine a sisterhood – across all creeds and cultures. An unspoken agreement that we, as women, will support and encourage one another. That we will remember we don’t know what struggles each of us may be facing elsewhere in our lives and so we will assume that each of us is doing our best…”




Credit: Grazia

It promotes itself as “inspiring, empowering, provocative”, and attempts to be more than just a self-help book. It discusses spirituality, politics, meaning and purpose in life, with practical and psychological tools to use daily.

For those of us who are more than a little cynical when it comes to self-help books in general, it is said to be rather more straight-talking than most. I for one look forward to being challenged!

Buy We: A Manifesto For Women Everywhere here:

US

UK




Author writes book to explain complex science to toddlers

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Many parents and teachers know of the deep and often complex questions children ask when they are trying to figure out the world around them. Lots of ‘whys’, ‘whats’, and ‘hows’ invade our daily lives, often without warning and without a ready answer.

Author KC Land, aged 24, recently wrote and self-published her debut storybook Negan The Stardust, which attempts to explain one of the first and most important questions we ask: what are we made of, and where did we come from?

Land’s story is of a brave stellar atom named Negan who wanders with her friends Carbon and Hydrogen towards Earth after her own home is destroyed in a catastrophic explosion called a supernova.

The idea first came about when the author-whose real name is Casey Keene Stakland- was dealing with intense questions from her son.

“My son started asking some big questions such as ‘Why are we real?’ and ‘How did we get here?’ at the tender age of three. I tried at first to explain simply that we are real because we can make choices and that we all came from our mothers’ tummies, but he was obviously not satisfied with these answers and continued to ask.”

Read More

Prince’s Memoir to Be Published Later This Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
Prince is easily one of the greatest musicians to have lived and was ranked among the likes of Elton John, Madonna, and Michael Jackson when it came to contributions to music. The world mourned when Prince passed away in 2016 and his death was deeply felt by the music industry. Those who continue to enjoy Prince’s music will be pleased to learn that his memoir, which he was working on before he died, is set to be published later this year. Read More

Naomi Alderman and Juno Dawson to Author Two New Doctor Who Books

By | New Releases, Television | No Comments
We’ve already had one new Doctor Who book this year, a collection of short stories written only by women released on International Woman’s Day. The release was to celebrate the first female Doctor as Jodie Whittaker stepped into the role.

Now today we hear the news that there are two new Doctor Who stories coming later this year and female authors are again the flavour of the day. However, we’re in for a real treat this time as the two new stories are written by award winning Naomi Alderman (The Power), and Juno Dawson.
Read More

Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell Collaborate on Art Book

By | Arty, New Releases | No Comments
Neil Gaiman is to publish a new art book in September with illustrations from Chris Riddell. The new book, Art Matters will inspire readers to seize the day and fill the world with creativity and it’s likely to be a bestseller this autumn.

The ‘Creative call to arms’ will combine Neil Gaiman’s words with striking illustrations from Chris Riddell, drawn from speeches, poems and creative manifestos Art Matters will explore how reading, imagining and creating can change the world.
Read More

New Novel Coming from Jasper Fforde

By | New Releases | No Comments
Jasper Fforde is probably best known for the Eyre Affair and his Thursday Next novels, which quite literally brought classic literature to life. The Eyre Affair was his debut novel, written on the back of 20 years within the film industry. Since that was released Fforde has written twelve novels, mostly science fiction, fantasy and satire, selling almost two million copies and now he’s back with a new ‘Rich and Dark’ novel this autumn called Early Riser. Read More

New Miss Peregrine Book Coming Later this Year

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was pretty much the book everyone was talking about over the last decade. Then the single book turned into a trilogy, a film followed and a love affair with this weird and wonderful story arc followed.

Today we hear the news that there’s a fourth book coming, and we’re sure those who loved the trilogy will be thrilled. Out on 2nd October, A Map of Days is going to take Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children in a new direction and we can only hope it’s as thrilling as the previous books were. Read More

George R.R. Martin Announces Fire and Blood Release Date

By | New Releases | No Comments

But it’s not the one we’re waiting for

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series will be pleased to learn that this year they’ll have an excuse to return to the lands of Westeros. No, it’s not the long awaited Winds of Winter, but is instead a book that chronicles the long and bloody reign of the Targaryen kings and queens that ruled Westeros thanks to the might of their dragons.

Announced on Martin’s official blog, Fire and Blood is set to be released later this year on November 20 and will release simultaneously in both the US and the UK. Translated editions will take a little longer to release but will follow shortly after. Despite being the first of two books, the tome’s manuscript comes in at just shy of 1000 pages (989 to be exact) and will begin with the reign of Aegon I up to the regency of Aegon III.
Read More

Leave a Reply