Helen Dunmore Short Story Collection to be Published Posthumously

By January 7, 2018Authors, New Releases

2017 brought the sad loss of poet and short story writer Helen Dunmore, and since then the author has posthumously collected a Costa Award for her poetry collection Inside the Wave. Now it’s been announced that 2018 will bring another posthumous collection from the author, a collection of short stories called Girl, Balancing, and Other Stories.

The tales were collected by Dunmore’s family shortly after the author’s death at her suggestion and will be published by Hutchinson on June 7th 2018. The collection has been described by her editor Selina Walker as “a wonderful testament to Helen’s skills as a master of the narrative art whether in long or short form”.

The collection of stories explores the balance between familial love, motherhood, friendship and grief and will be the first short story collection from Dunmore in twenty years.

Dunmore was a respected author and poet and news of her death last year was followed by an outpouring of tributes from the literary community, where she was called not just an exceptional person, but an exceptional writer too.

Patrick Dunmore, Helen’s son commented after her death that Helen had loved writing short stories but hadn’t published a set for twenty years. It was her who suggested that Girl, Balancing, and Other Stories was collected together after her death.

While Inside the Wave spoke mostly of Dunmore’s illness, and included a poem written just days before her death, this new collection includes work written over many years and will be an eclectic collection of short stories from a variety of times and settings. While Girl, Balancing and Other Stories doesn’t yet have cover art, it is available for pre-order now in time for that June 7th release.

20th Anniversary Harry Potter Covers Hide a Stunning Secret

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Over the years we’ve seen various Harry Potter covers, but maybe none so fixed in our memories as the iconic original covers. Be honest, when you picture the first Harry Potter book, do you see the Hogwarts Express in the background? I know I do.

Now it’s twenty years since the first book was released and to celebrate, American illustrator Brian Selznick, a huge fan of the series, has designed a set of brand new covers and they hide a beautiful secret.
Read More

New Book on Animal Flatulence Is All We’ve Been Waiting For

By | New Releases | No Comments
Yes, you read that right! There’s a brand new book on animals and whether they fart. So if you’ve ever wondered if birds do it, or bees do it, or even educated fleas do it, you can find out with this brand new book released this month.

Have you ever wondered if a snake sneaks one out? If a bird barps? Or if a fish farts? Well Does it Fart? The Definitive Guide to Animal Flatulence will be able to tell you.
Read More

New J.R.R. Tolkien Book ‘The Fall of Gondolin’ to Be Released This Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
J.R.R Tolkien is arguably the father of modern fantasy and his fictional world of Middle-Earth has had a massive impact on the fantasy genre since The Hobbit was published in 1937. Since Tolkien’s death in 1973, his son Christopher has spent decades pouring over his father’s unfinished works in order to bring us new stories set in Middle-Earth that Tolkien himself never finished. Last year we saw the release of Beren and Lúthien in a stand alone edition, and now we can look forward to a new release in The Fall of Gondolin. Read More

5 Exciting New Releases for April

By | New Releases | No Comments
Spring is well and truly in the air now in the Northern Hemisphere and if you’re starting to think about your summer reads, or the books you might like to pack in the holiday case then there are some brilliant new books out this April that may just catch your eye.

Whatever you like to read, fiction or nonfiction, April is promising some exciting new reading material. Here we’re going to take a look at what we think are the best new releases for April, with release dates and pre-order details. Read More

New Book on Algorithms set to be Bestseller after Cambridge Analytica Scandal

By | New Releases | No Comments
A new book on algorithms and how they control our lives is looking to be a bestseller upon release after the Cambridge Analytica scandal of the past few weeks. Outnumbered: From Facebook and Google to Fake News and Filter-bubbles – The Algorithms That Control Our Lives was set to be published later this year, but the publication has been brought forward due to the recent news and revelations from social media.

Read More

Nancy Drew is BACK!

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Nancy Drew first appeared in 1930, and featured in books ghostwritten by many different authors, and published under the collective pseudonym Carolyn Keene.

Over the years the character has evolved to suit tastes and needs of readers, especially in the USA, and in the 1980s Nancy became more mature, wiser, and more sensible than her earlier incarnations.

Now in 2018 she is back- and is a thoroughly modern Nancy! Dynamite Entertainment announced the new Nancy Drew comic book series written by Kelly Thompson (Marvel’s Hawkeye, IDW’s Jem and the Holograms) and artist Jenn St-Onge (Tee Franklin’s Bingo Love).

Read More

Leave a Reply