Joanne Harris to Release Fourth ‘Chocolat’ Novel

By August 11, 2018 New Releases

It’s seven years since Joanne Harris released the third book in the Chocolat canon and now it’s announced that there’s a fourth book coming from publisher, Orion.

Two decades after the release of Chocolat comes The Strawberry Thief, the fourth book in the series. The novel will feature protagonist Vianne Rocher in the French town of Lansquenet and will be published in hardback, paperback, eBook and audio in April of next year. Pre-order links aren’t yet available but we’ll update once the book is on sale.

The first novel in the series, Chocolat was published in 1999, in 2007, The Lollipop Shoes followed with the third book, Peaches for Monsieur Le Cure released in 2012. In total the series has sold more than two copies in the UK alone and has been exported around the world. Chocolat was also made into a movie.

In The Strawberry Thief, Vianna is back in Lansquenet-sous-Tannes, the place that once rejected her, with her second daughter Rosette. The description reads “But when old Narcisse, the florist, dies, leaving a parcel of land to Rosette and a written confession to Reynaud, the life of the sleepy village is thrown into disarray. The arrival of Narcisse’s relatives, the departure of an old friend and the opening of a mysterious new shop in the place of the florist’s across the square – one that mirrors the chocolaterie, and has a strange appeal of its own – all seem to herald some kind of change: a confrontation, a turbulence – even, perhaps, a murder…”

Fans of the series will be thrilled to hear there is to be another instalment and the new novel will add to Harris’ already extensive bibliography including sixteen novels, a Doctor Who novella, three cookbooks and much more.

We’ll be back with more news and pre-order links later in the year but The Strawberry Thief is marked for release in April 2019.

Little Miss Inventor Joins the Mr Men/Little Miss Collection

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
The Mr. Men books, illustrated and written by Roger Hargreaves have been a hit with children since 1971 when they were first published and the collection was later increased to include female characters in 1981 with an accompanying series, Little Miss. Now, the Little Miss collection is about to be joined by a new character, Little Miss Inventor.
Read More

On the Come Up Playlist

By | New Releases | No Comments
Angie Thomas’ On the Come up was released this month and is her second novel, following the success of The Hate U Give. On the Come Up returns to Garden Heights and follows the story of 16-year-old music lover, Bri who wants to became a great rapper. But, as the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he made it big, she’s got big shoes to fill if she’s going to make it in the music world.

Read More

New Book Reveals Stieg Larsson’s Investigations of Swedish PM’s Assassination

By | New Releases | No Comments
Stieg Larsson is best known for writing the critically acclaimed Millennium series, which shot to fame with the publication of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in 2005. Stieg had just finished working on the second two instalments before he died unexpectedly and the two novels were published to equal acclaim. Before he became a novelist, Larsson spent much of his life as a journalist and, it has now been revealed, was investigating the 1986 assassination of the Swedish prime minister Olof Palme.

Read More

Margaret Atwood Reveals Haunting Cover for The Testaments

By | New Releases | No Comments
When the news that Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale was getting a sequel dropped before Christmas, fans took a collective gasp! The 1985 novel ends on a bit of a cliff hanger and until the television series we’ve all been wondering what happens next.

The Testaments is set 15 years after Offred’s final scenes and so doesn’t interfere with the television series at all. Back in November when the novel was announced via the author’s Twitter page, there was no cover but now the front cover has been revealed and it’s as haunting as we imagined it would be!

Read More

One Comment

  • Michelle says:

    Great news but also a fab typo in para 3 “In total the series has sold more than two copies in the UK alone and has been exported around the world. Chocolat was also made into a movie.”

    Two whole copies….. wow! When there are three books, not so wow! Made me smile…. 🙂

Leave a Reply