New Mark Haddon Novel Announced

By September 25, 2018 New Releases

It’s been seven years since the release of the last Mark Haddon novel, but now the author of the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time has announced that his next novel to be published in May next year is called The Porpoise and is based on the epic tale of Pericles, Prince of Tyre.

The novel, to be published by Vintage imprint Chatto & Windus will be Haddon’s first in seven years and promises and “exhilarating adventure” over land, air and sea. The Porpoise is about “a journey like no other” according to the publishers, taking readers from the present day to ancient times and back again.

The story starts on a plane heading for disaster before switching to open sea aboard a boat called The Porpoise, and ending in dense forests.

The initial release date marked is 9th May 2019 and already has a cover and is available for pre-order now.

Little Miss Inventor Joins the Mr Men/Little Miss Collection

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
The Mr. Men books, illustrated and written by Roger Hargreaves have been a hit with children since 1971 when they were first published and the collection was later increased to include female characters in 1981 with an accompanying series, Little Miss. Now, the Little Miss collection is about to be joined by a new character, Little Miss Inventor.
Read More

On the Come Up Playlist

By | New Releases | No Comments
Angie Thomas’ On the Come up was released this month and is her second novel, following the success of The Hate U Give. On the Come Up returns to Garden Heights and follows the story of 16-year-old music lover, Bri who wants to became a great rapper. But, as the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he made it big, she’s got big shoes to fill if she’s going to make it in the music world.

Read More

New Book Reveals Stieg Larsson’s Investigations of Swedish PM’s Assassination

By | New Releases | No Comments
Stieg Larsson is best known for writing the critically acclaimed Millennium series, which shot to fame with the publication of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in 2005. Stieg had just finished working on the second two instalments before he died unexpectedly and the two novels were published to equal acclaim. Before he became a novelist, Larsson spent much of his life as a journalist and, it has now been revealed, was investigating the 1986 assassination of the Swedish prime minister Olof Palme.

Read More

Margaret Atwood Reveals Haunting Cover for The Testaments

By | New Releases | No Comments
When the news that Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale was getting a sequel dropped before Christmas, fans took a collective gasp! The 1985 novel ends on a bit of a cliff hanger and until the television series we’ve all been wondering what happens next.

The Testaments is set 15 years after Offred’s final scenes and so doesn’t interfere with the television series at all. Back in November when the novel was announced via the author’s Twitter page, there was no cover but now the front cover has been revealed and it’s as haunting as we imagined it would be!

Read More

Leave a Reply