Dave Chappelle to Be Awarded Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

By May 12, 2019 Literary Awards, News

American stand up comedian, actor, writer, and producer Dave Chappelle is set to be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Chappelle, who’s well known for his sketch series Chappelle’s Show, his stand up comedy, and appearing in hit movies such as A Star is Born, will be awarded the prize at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall on Oct. 27.

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor was founded in 1998 and has been held annually since then. It is awarded to those who have “had an impact on American society in ways similar to” the titular author. The award’s first winner was Richard Prior, and since then many notable humourists have been honoured, including the likes of George Carlin, Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Eddie Murphy and David Letterman, with last year’s award going to Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

Kennedy Center president Deborah F. Rutter said in a statement: “Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain’s observation that ‘against the assault of humor, nothing can stand.’ For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective. Dave is a hometown hero here in Washington, D.C., where he grew up. We’re so looking forward to welcoming him back home.”


Leave a Reply