10 Brilliant Books out in July 2019

The year is flying by and we’re already half way through! Hopefully you’re finding plenty to read this year, but a new month means more new books and so today we’re getting together a round up of the best new books being released this July.

Covering a range of genres, hopefully with something for all of you, here are ten brilliant new books out this July. Whether you’re grabbing books for your holiday case or just putting together your summer reading list we hope you find something here to add to your TBR!

The Nickel Boys – Colson Whitehead

16th July, 2019

From the Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Underground Railroad comes this devastating new novel.

The Nickel Boys follows the story of Elwood Curtis growing up in Jim Crow’s South of the early 1960s. Curtis is about to enrol in college but one innocent mistake lands him in the Nickel Academy full of sadistic staff and corrupt officials.

Based on the real story of a reform school in Florida that operated for one hundred and eleven years and warped the lives of thousands of children, The Nickel Boys is a devastating, driven narrative that showcases a great American novelist writing at the height of his powers.

The Nickel Boys

Submit a Review

Never Have I Ever – Joshilyn Jackson

30th July, 2019

Sometimes even the simplest of lives can unravel as Amy Whey finds when the mysterious Angelica Roux turns up on her doorstep one book club night. Roux beguiles the group, but turns out to be a huge threat to Amy as she threatens a war of hidden pasts and unearthed secrets.

A diabolically entertaining tale of betrayal, deception, temptation, and love filled with dark twists leavened by Joshilyn Jackson’s trademark humour, Never Have I Ever explores what happens when the transgressions of our past come back with a vengeance.

Never Have I Ever

Submit a Review

The Escape Room – Megan Goldin

30th July, 2019

Working in the high pressured by lucrative world of finance Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are top of their game, so when they’re invited to a team building, escape room type day, they’re happy to rise to the challenge.

However, when the lights go down it’s clear this isn’t any ordinary escape room, and they’re all caught in a desperate struggle for survival, as the misdemeanours and moral incursions they played out on their way up the corporate ladder come back to bite them.

The Escape Room

Submit a Review

Meet Me in Monaco – Hazel Gaynor/Heather Webb

July 23rd, 2019

This perfect summer read is set to the backdrop of Grace Kelly’s whirlwind romance and unforgettable wedding to Prince Rainier of Monaco. An evocative sun-drenched journey along the Côte d’Azur in this page-turning novel of passion, fate and second chances.

Movie stars and paparazzi flock to Cannes for the glamorous film festival, but Grace Kelly, the biggest star of all, wants only to escape from the flash-bulbs. When struggling perfumer Sophie Duval shelters Miss Kelly in her boutique to fend off a persistent British press photographer, James Henderson, a bond is forged between the two women and sets in motion a chain of events that stretches across thirty years of friendship, love, and tragedy.

Meet Me in Monaco

Submit a Review

The Last Book Party – Karen Dukess

9th July, 2019

It’s the summer of 1987 and 25-year-old Eve Rosen is an aspiring writer languishing in a low-level assistant job, unable to shake the shadow of growing up with her brilliant brother. With her professional ambitions floundering, Eve jumps at the chance to attend an early summer gathering at the Cape Cod home of famed New Yorkerwriter Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie.

A page-turning, coming-of-age story, written with a lyrical sense of place and a profound appreciation for the sustaining power of books, Karen Dukess’s The Last Book Partyshows what happens when youth and experience collide and what it takes to find your own voice.

The Last Book Party

Submit a Review



Healthy Habits Suck – Dayne Lee Baggley

1st July, 2019

If you’re finding it hard to make the change to a healthier lifestyle, then this tongue in cheek, hilarious life guide is for you.

This book not only acknowledges that many healthy habits suck, it uses science to explain why we want the things we want (junk food), crave the things we crave (sugar), and dislike the things we dislike (exercise). At the end, you’ll feel validated in feeling like these things are the absolute worst. But you’ll also find the motivation to do them anyway.

Healthy Habits Suck

Submit a Review

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

30th July, 2019

Inspired by the greats such as Bram Stoker, Edgar Allen Poe, and H. P Lovecraft, these tales for middle school children are spooky, and scary and perfect for campfire stories this summer.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Submit a Review

The Spaces Between Us – Stacia Tolman

26th July, 2019

Described as a girl-centred Catcher in the Rye for the 21st Century, The Spaces Between Us follows the story of two outcast best friends who are desperate to survive senior year and leave behind their dying factory town.

A spectacular Young Adult debut from an emerging author, The Spaces Between Us will draw you in to its unforgettable and multi-layered story.

The Spaces Between Us

Submit a Review

Famous People – Justin Kuritzkes

Written in the style of a celebrity memoir, this clever novel probes the life of a mega-famous pop star.

A teen idol since he was twelve, when a video of him singing went viral, his star has only risen since. Now, haunted by the suicide of his manager-father, unsettled by the very different paths he and his teenage love (and girl pop-star counterpart) “Mandy” have taken, and increasingly aware that he has signed on to something he has little control over, he begins to parse the divide that separates him from the “normal people” of the world.

Sneakily philosophical, earnest and funny, Justin Kuritzkes’s Famous People is a rollicking, unforgettable look at the clash between fame and the human condition.

Famous People

Submit a Review

The Substitution Order – Martin Clark

9th July, 2019

Kevin Moore, once a high-flying Virginia attorney, hits rock bottom after an inexplicably tumultuous summer leaves him disbarred and separated from his wife. Short on cash and looking for work, he lands in the middle of nowhere with a job at SUBstitution, the world’s saddest sandwich shop. His closest confidants: a rambunctious rescue puppy and the twenty-year-old computer whiz manning the restaurant counter beside him. He’s determined to set his life right again, but the troubles keep coming. And when a bizarre, mysterious stranger wanders into the shop armed with a threatening “invitation” to join a multimillion-dollar scam, Kevin will need every bit of his legal savvy just to stay out of prison.

A remarkable tour of the law’s tricks and hidden trapdoors, The Substitution Order is both wise and ingenious, a wildly entertaining novel that will keep you guessing–and rooting for its tenacious hero–until the very last page.

The Substitution Order

Submit a Review

We hope you find some good suggestions there and we’ll be back with more recommendations lists soon. If you want to ensure you never miss any of these, subscribe now.



Leave a Reply