Skip to main content

Nielsen Bestseller Hall of Fame to add Rowling, Donaldson and James

By January 19, 2017Literary Awards, News

For 18 years now Nielsen Book has been tracking book sales and creating a yearly Hall of Fame featuring authors who have reached platinum sales records. The official ‘Class of 2016’ will be announced at the Specsavers Bestseller Awards Ceremony in late January but we hear today that J. K Rowling, Julia Donaldson, and E. L James have made it into the Hall of Fame.

The list comprises 97 titles from 64 authors and is quite the snapshot of publishing and the tastes of the British public, the books they have loved through the years and the books that move into classic territory with continuing sales long after publishing.

Rowling appears in the list more times than any other author with nine titles, with Dan Brown and E. L James also topping the list. E. L James is one of the newest additions to the list but is joined by other more recent authors such as Gillian Flynn for platinum selling Gone Girl, These new authors join long standing additions to the list such as George Orwell for Nineteen Eighty-Four and John Steinbeck for Of Mice and Men. Other authors who make the list are Steig Larsson, Bill Bryson, Helen Fielding and John Green.

As often is in literature, fiction dominates and of the 97 titles, 46 are fiction titles, 34 are children’s books while just 14 nonfiction titles make the list.

The Class of 2016 with all 97 books and authors will be announced on 25th January at the Specsaver Bestseller Awards.

Leave your vote

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.