Skip to main content

Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction Longlist 2017 Announced

By February 23, 2017Literary Awards, News

The Walter Scott prize was founded in 2010 to celebrate quality, innovation and longevity in historical fiction. Longlisted works must reflect the subtitle ‘sixty years since’ of Scott’s most famous work, Waverley, in that the majority of the storyline must have taken place at least 60 years ago.

The award is handed out at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland in June each year and the winner receives £25,000 with shortlisted authors each receiving £1,000 each.

The longlist is announced today and in March we can expect the shortlist with the winner of the Walter Scott Prize for Historical fiction announced in mid June at the Borders Book Festival, Melrose. Here are the longlisted books:

Leave your vote

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.