BBC National Short Story Award’s 2017

I’m excited. The BBC National Short Stories Award shortlist has just been announced.

This combines two of my favourite things, short stories and podcasts. Each of the shortlisted stories is broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and then, a little while after, is available for download during this week.

Selected from over 600 entries, this year’s shortlist is as follows:

Murmur by Will Eaves

– a vivdly narrated account of a man finding himself on the wrong side of conventional morality.

The Waken by Jenni Fagan

– set on a scotish island where a young woman with vengance on her mind has a transformative experience.

The Edge of the Shoal by Cynan Jones

– a fishing trip gone wrong, a story of survival on the seas.

The Collector by Benjamin Markovits

– a lonely man is struggling to come to terms with recent events which are shrouded in mystery.

If a book is locked there’s probably a good reason for that, don’t you think? by Helen Oyeyemi

– a tale of office politics turned dark when a newcomer’s handbag is upturned and secrets spill out.

The podcasts can be found to download here

The stories are also available in an anthology if you prefer to read them. The National Short Story Awards 2017 is out now in the UK and will be released in the US on November 1st.

The judges for this year include Joanna Trollope, Eimear McBride, Jon McGregor, Sunjeev Sahota and Di Speirs, who is Books Editor at BBC Radio.

This is the 12th year of this award, with the winning author receiving £15000, and the four other shortlisted authors, £600 each. The winner will be announced on Tuesday 3rd October live on BBC Radio 4 during Front Row from 7.15pm.

If you want to read more about the award head to BBC Radio 4’s website here

Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist Announced

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced its longlist in time for International Women’s Day 2018.

Sixteen books were picked for the longlist by the judging panel, honouring both new and well-established writers, including six debut novels.

The Chair of the Judges is Sarah Sands, Editor of BBC Radio 4’s Today Programme who said:

“The longlist came out of a Chequers style meeting where different views were accommodated and peace reigned, at least for now. What is striking about the list, apart from the wealth of talent, is that women writers refuse to be pigeon-holed. We have searing social realism, adventure, comedy, poetic truths, ingenious plots and unforgettable characters. Women of the world are a literary force to be reckoned with.”

Read More

Man Booker Prize Announces One-Off 50th Anniversary Award

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The Man Booker Prize is an award given each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK. The award is very prestigious and notable winners include the likes of Thomas Keneally for Schindler’s Ark, Michael Ondaatje for The English Patient, and Margaret Atwood for The Blind Assassin.

The Man Booker Prize was first established in 1969 and, to celebrate its upcoming 50th anniversary, a one-off award is set to be given to the writer of the best work of fiction from the last five decades. The candidates have been chosen by five judges, but the final say will be given to the public who can vote for the writer they deem most deserving. Read More

8 Novels That We Think Could be Award Winners in 2018

By | Literary Awards, New Releases | No Comments
We’re still early in the year and that means months and months of exciting new releases, and all the literary awards of 2018 are still ahead of us. With this in mind, today we thought we’d combine the two and see if we can pick out some novels coming in 2018 that we also think may be up for some of this year’s big literary awards, allowing you addicts to stay ahead of the game. Read More

National Book Awards to Open to Translated Works

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The National Book Foundation Board for the prestigious US prize has announced that the awards will establish a fifth National Book Award for translated works of fiction, and nonfiction published in the USA.

The prize will honour one work of fiction, or nonfiction that has been translated into English in the US, and begins at the 69th National Book Awards this November. Read More

Costa Book of the Year Posthumously Awarded to Helen Dunmore

By | Literary Awards, News, Poetry | No Comments
The British poet, novelist, and children’s writer, Helen Dunmore, has been posthumously awarded the 2017 Costa Book of the Year Award for her tenth and final poetry collection, called Inside the Wave. The Costa Awards recognise writers from the UK and Ireland and the overall book of the year is selected from the winners of each category of novel, first novel, biography, poetry and children’s book. Read More

Leave a Reply