Kazuo Ishiguro Comments on his Nobel Literature Prize Win

By October 6, 2017Authors, Literary Awards, News

As we reported, it was announced earlier this week that the British author Kazuo Ishiguro has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature 2017. The famed author has written many notable works, including the likes of The Remains of the Day, When We Were Orphans, and Never Let Me Go.

Since winning the highly coveted award, Ishiguro has stated that the prize is “flabbergastingly flattering”. He was initially contacted by the BBC and he revealed that he hadn’t yet been contacted by the Nobel committee and he was worried it was all a hoax.

“It’s a magnificent honour, mainly because it means that I’m in the footsteps of the greatest authors that have lived, so that’s a terrific commendation,” he said. He went on to say that he hopes the Nobel prizes will be a force for good. “The world is in a very uncertain moment and I would hope all the Nobel Prizes would be a force for something positive in the world as it is at the moment.” He added: “I’ll be deeply moved if I could in some way be part of some sort of climate this year in contributing to some sort of positive atmosphere at a very uncertain time.”

Ishiguro won the Nobel prize for literature for his 2015 book The Buried Giant. The committee praised it for examining “how memory relates to oblivion, history to the present, and fantasy to reality”.

The YA Book Prize Opens for Submissions

By | Authors, Children's Literature, Literary Awards, News | No Comments
Do you know anyone who’s written a brilliant young adult novel? If so you may want to give them the heads up as submissions open for the YA Book Prize 2018.

The YA Book Prize has been running in the UK and Ireland since 2014, and serves to champion the breadth and brilliance of Young Adult writing. The deadline is a couple of months away yet so authors have time to prepare! Read More

American Author George Saunders Wins Man Booker Prize

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments
The 2017 Man Booker Prize has been awarded to American author George Saunders for his first full-length novel Lincoln in the Bardo. The book is inspired by the night that Abraham Lincoln buried his 11-year-old son in a cemetery in Washington. Bardo is a Tibetan Buddhist word meaning limbo and the story follows the dead as they watch the young boy await his father’s return. Read More

BBC 100 Women 2017 Tackles Illiteracy

By | Literary Awards, News | No Comments

What is BBC 100 Women?

BBC 100 Women is an annual, multi-format series examining the role of women in the 21st century. It began in 2013 by BBC Controller Liliane Landor and BBC editor Fiona Crack, to address the under-representation of women in the media.

A survey in 26 different languages was set out and gained responses from women all over the world. Participants of 100 women were chosen to attend a conference in which they discussed challenges they faced in their daily lives. Since the first series they have covered topics such as education, healthcare, equal pay, genital mutilation, domestic violence, and sexual abuse.

Each annual series provides women with a platform to examine every day sexism they face and discuss how to improve the world. Women from all over the globe, and diverse fields of expertise, are included on the BBC 100 Women list. The list includes some celebrities, and many unknown heroic champions of women.

Read More

National Books Awards 2017: Finalists Revealed

By | Literary Awards, Literature, News | One Comment
The finalists for the National Book Awards 2017 have been revealed today with 20 books across four main categories, fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people’s literature.

The National Book Award is a prestigious prize, the prize was established in 1936 by the American Booksellers Association, and while abandoned during WWII, was re-established in 1950. The award is giving to US authors, and the award ceremony takes place in November. Read More

Leave a Reply