Waterstones Names Their Author and Book of the Year

UK Bookseller, Waterstones has announced its Author of the Year and Book of the Year, described as “Two books of hope, two inspiring gifts.” Both the author and book of the year are also exemplified as “books for a better world”, which given the year we’ve had, is definitely what people need to find under their Christmas trees this festive season.

Speaking about the winners, Waterstones campaign manager, Kate McHale added: “This year, we are delighted to name both a book that celebrates a wonderful artist, and an author whose words have had a unique impact on our world.”

16-year-old climate activist, Greta Thunberg is the person to be named as Waterstones’ Author of the Year following the publication of her book, No One Is Too Small To Make A Difference. The book is a collection of emotive speeches on the climate crisis that the impassioned teenager has delivered over past few years.

Chapters in the book include; ‘Our House Is On Fire and You’re Acting Like Spoiled, Irresponsible Children’ which was a speech that Greta Thunberg delivered to EU leaders in February.

Thuberg has successfully inspired young people around the world to follow in her footsteps and have their own voices heard in the fight against environmental crisis. Waterstones Campaign Manager, Kate McHale, explained, “Greta Thunberg’s speeches have been an inspiration to millions, and these are now brought together in a new edition of No One Is Too Small To Make A Difference that powerfully illustrates that remarkable story.”

Alongside Greta Thunberg as Author of the Year, Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse has been awarded Waterstones Book of the Year. This heart-warming tale of unlikely friendships and hope in uncertain times beat off Margaret Atwood’s Booker Prize-winning The Testaments for the accolade from Waterstones. “The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and The Horse is a wise and beautiful tale calling for love, friendship and courage,” stated Kate McHale, regarding the book’s win.

So, if you’re looking for the perfect gift this winter, maybe you need to look no further than Waterstones Author and Book of the Year winners; Greta Thunberg with No One Is Too Small To Make A Difference and Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse.

Leave your vote

Leave a Reply

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.