Author Zadie Smith Has Two New Books in the Works

By July 12, 2017Authors, New Releases, News

Author Zadie Smith first came to prominence when she published her first book, White Teeth, in the year 2000 at the age of just 24. White Teeth received critical acclaim and she has since gone on to publish four more successful books since then. Fans of Smith’s work will be pleased to learn that the author has not one, but two books in the works, and they’re expected to be published from 2019 onwards.

As The Telegraph reports, Smith will remain with her current publisher, Penguin imprint Hamish Hamilton for both of her upcoming works. The first novel is currently untitled and will be a collection of short stories written by Smith over almost twenty years. The second novel is called The Fraud and will have an historical setting inspired by events that took place in north-west London between the 1830s and 1870s. Neither of the books have an exact publication date but they’re set to be released from 2019 onwards.

Simon Prosser, of Hamish Hamilton said: “It is especially thrilling that she is for the first time writing a novel set entirely in the past.” Smith herself has remained tight-lipped when it comes to details on the new books but she stated she “feels lucky to still have this long and unbroken relationship with such a serious and innovative corner of British publishing”.

George R.R. Martin Announces Fire and Blood Release Date

By | New Releases | No Comments

But it’s not the one we’re waiting for

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series will be pleased to learn that this year they’ll have an excuse to return to the lands of Westeros. No, it’s not the long awaited Winds of Winter, but is instead a book that chronicles the long and bloody reign of the Targaryen kings and queens that ruled Westeros thanks to the might of their dragons.

Announced on Martin’s official blog, Fire and Blood is set to be released later this year on November 20 and will release simultaneously in both the US and the UK. Translated editions will take a little longer to release but will follow shortly after. Despite being the first of two books, the tome’s manuscript comes in at just shy of 1000 pages (989 to be exact) and will begin with the reign of Aegon I up to the regency of Aegon III.
Read More

20th Anniversary Harry Potter Covers Hide a Stunning Secret

By | Children's Literature, New Releases | No Comments
Over the years we’ve seen various Harry Potter covers, but maybe none so fixed in our memories as the iconic original covers. Be honest, when you picture the first Harry Potter book, do you see the Hogwarts Express in the background? I know I do.

Now it’s twenty years since the first book was released and to celebrate, American illustrator Brian Selznick, a huge fan of the series, has designed a set of brand new covers and they hide a beautiful secret.
Read More

New Book on Animal Flatulence Is All We’ve Been Waiting For

By | New Releases | No Comments
Yes, you read that right! There’s a brand new book on animals and whether they fart. So if you’ve ever wondered if birds do it, or bees do it, or even educated fleas do it, you can find out with this brand new book released this month.

Have you ever wondered if a snake sneaks one out? If a bird barps? Or if a fish farts? Well Does it Fart? The Definitive Guide to Animal Flatulence will be able to tell you.
Read More

New J.R.R. Tolkien Book ‘The Fall of Gondolin’ to Be Released This Year

By | New Releases | No Comments
J.R.R Tolkien is arguably the father of modern fantasy and his fictional world of Middle-Earth has had a massive impact on the fantasy genre since The Hobbit was published in 1937. Since Tolkien’s death in 1973, his son Christopher has spent decades pouring over his father’s unfinished works in order to bring us new stories set in Middle-Earth that Tolkien himself never finished. Last year we saw the release of Beren and Lúthien in a stand alone edition, and now we can look forward to a new release in The Fall of Gondolin. Read More

5 Exciting New Releases for April

By | New Releases | No Comments
Spring is well and truly in the air now in the Northern Hemisphere and if you’re starting to think about your summer reads, or the books you might like to pack in the holiday case then there are some brilliant new books out this April that may just catch your eye.

Whatever you like to read, fiction or nonfiction, April is promising some exciting new reading material. Here we’re going to take a look at what we think are the best new releases for April, with release dates and pre-order details. Read More



Leave a Reply