“Why is this novel so good?…  It is almost impossible to pin down such an inspired invention.”


A delightful read and the first in a series of 18 books.
A chronicle into the heart of Africa!
I had heard a lot about this series, before I decided to take the plunge.

Precious Ramotswe (aka Mma Ramotswe), daughter of Obed Ramotswe, inherits a substantial fortune on the demise of her father (who succumbed to lung injuries due to his long-standing job at the mines). She decides to invest in a detective agency (and a house) to make a living for herself.

The book starts off a wee bit slowly, as the author establishes the background of Precious (her family, her school days, her love-life and her failed marriage) and how her interest towards forming a detective agency got piqued.
The description of Africa is so vivid – you get transported into Botswana.
We get a glimpse not only into Mma Ramotswe’s cases for the locals, but also many facets of the land and the relationships that are uncomplicated, rendering a simplicity to the readers.

Mma Ramotswe is a fantastic lady, full of compassion and warmth and she’s bound to strike a chord with you. She is fiercely proud of Africa and loves the country despite its myriad problems.
Most importantly, full credit to a man for having developed such a strong woman protagonist.

Many are under the impression that this series is for middle-aged women. Many also believe that these are mystery books. Both these notions are misconceptions. What I gathered from this first book is that mysteries are a small part of these stories.
They are about humanity.

My rating: 3.5/5


Reviewed by:

Ranjini Sen

Added 9th July 2017